top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTheLittLibrarian

Assassin's Creed: The Secret Crusade - Review



After finding out that there are several books in the Assassin's Creed collection, I decided to give it another go. I accidentally stumbled on the audio version of The Secret Crusade by Oliver Bowden while looking for The Ming Storm auditory. Maybe hearing the story will fare better than reading it?


"Altair embarks on a formidable mission—one that takes him throughout the Holy Land and shows him the true meaning of the Assassin's Creed. To demonstrate his commitment, Altair must defeat nine deadly enemies, including Templar leader, Robert de Sable.
Altair's life story is told here for the first time: a journey that will change the course of history; his ongoing battle with the Templar conspiracy; a family life that is as tragic as it is shocking; and the ultimate betrayal of an old friend."

This was my first time experiencing an audiobook. It's different. It made me realize how much you have to have the right person narrate a story. I got lucky by finding the version with Gunnar Cauthery. He did a phenomenal job. I think he's the reason why I trekked through the tale.


If you have played the Assassin's Creed series (specifically Assassin's Creed III), you will be familiar with the main character, Altaïr Ibn-La'Ahad. The Secret Crusade is a tight backstory description of his life as an assassin. This would be a thrilling read if you're unfamiliar with his story, but if you're a fan of the series like I am, you're not missing much.


Even though I liked Cauthery's storytelling, it was still tough to get through the adventure. Almost like the games, I found the book to be repetitive, political, and boring. I wanted to give The Secret Crusade a real auditory chance because I love the Assassin's Creed series. I almost have every game! Unfortunately, I don't think the books are for me.


Overall I rated this story 2.5-stars. The Ming Storm wasn't my forte, and I thought The Secret Crusade would be different if I heard the story. It wasn't. My prognosis still stands: stick to the video games.


Assassin's Creed: The Secret Crusade is available now.



21 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page