top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTheLittLibrarian

Human Remains: The Complete Series - Review


*I received a physical copy for Rockstar Book Tours via Vault Comics. All reviews are my own.*


Look at the cover. I mean, drink it up! Look at the detailed creepy graphics with a pop of shocking pink! If that doesn't say pick me up, then I don't know what you see in graphic novel art. I've seen the Human Remains graphic novel by Peter Milligan & Sally Cantirino floating around the bookstagram atmosphere for a while, and I decided to join a tour for its efforts.


"Dax and Bisa love each other. But in this new and terrifying world, love is dangerous. Feeling anything is dangerous. Love. Hate. Joy. Fear. Any of these in strong doses will bring a swift death. Earth has a new and terrible invader—monsters that smell the scent of emotion, salivate over the prey, and hunt the very feelings that make us human. "

I'll keep it short: The graphic was okay. I didn't know what to expect from the story but judging from the synopsis; I thought it was going to be about a newlywed couple trying to survive some Bird Box/A Quiet Place apocalypse whilst in love. There are monsters unaliving people for showing too much emotion, which sounded like survival of the fittest. Something right up my alley! Instead, I got multiple stories of strangers who are somehow all interconnected with each other, trying to find a new normal.



The story was meant to show how people deal with catastrophic events and how humans cope with extreme trauma. There were some unanswered questions about a few of the character's arcs, but nothing made me think too hard about the subject.


Overall I rated this 3-stars. It's not what I expected, though I wasn't expecting much. The graphics are simple water-based illustrations that became vibrant when violence was in the frame. Other than that, that's it. It's a quick read, not so much "scary" horror, but the imagination can run wild with this one.


Human Remains: The Complete Series is available now.


There is a giveaway for this title! Check out the details below


Giveaway Details:

One (1) winner will win finished copies of every book featured in the CHILLING HOLIDAYS from VAULT tour, US Only.

One (1) winner will win eBooks of every book featured in the CHILLING HOLIDAYS from VAULT tour from iBooks, International.


Ends January 17th, midnight EST.



10 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page