top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTheLittLibrarian

That Time I Got Drunk and Saved a Demon - Review


I received the digital and audio copy from Orbit Books. All reviews are my own.


That Time I Got Drunk and Saved a Demon by Kimberly Lemming was fun! Usually, I'm not into fae's, demons, and orcs, but my SYFY book club girlies at B2 Weird have been raving about this book so much that I jumped at the opportunity for a gifted copy. Since this is a reprint of Lemming's original independent debut, we're celebrating her official published debut with Orbit Books! Go Lemming!

               

TTIGDASAD is a black, blackity black, black book for the girls who cosplay and are into the weird side of Fantasy. I mean, look at the title! If that isn't the start of an "Ight so boom.." story, I don't know what is. I had a great time cackling at all the things I relate to. Check this right: Cinnamon is a Black girl who adds spice to everyone's life (literally, she's a spice farmer). She tries new styles and colors on kinky coily hair and speaks in the most unapologetic black girl way. Lemming celebrated being black without being overbearing, which I appreciated most.



The story itself was quick and to the point. An evil witch tricked her colony, and now Cinnamon has to save them and other creatures from the witch's deception. Along the way, she pairs up with a demon and falls in love. It's a pure enemies-to-lovers trope that turned out so cute and kinky. Demon sex. Who would have thought it? I loved how easygoing the story was and how well-written it turned out.



Overall, I rated this book 3.5 stars. I've read plenty of books that I relate to, but this one here was more homegoing. Lemming makes me want to check out more of her work, which I'll do with the next book in her Mead Mishap series, That Time I Got Drunk and Yeeted a Love Potion at a Werewolf.



22 views0 comments
bottom of page