top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTheLittLibrarian

The Haunting of Beatrix Greene - Review

Updated: Oct 27, 2020


*I received this e-arc from Net Galley. All views expressed are my own.*


I so badly want to refer to this book as The Haunting of Beatrix Kiddo as a nod to the movie Kill Bill, but alas, this book is nothing like the murderess blood-splattered bride. Oh nooo, this takes you back further in time. In the spirit of Spooky Season, I reviewed my first ghost story, The Haunting of Beatrix Greene (Episode 1) by Rachel Hawkins, Vicky Alvear Schecter, and Ash Parsons.

In Victorian England, a savvy spiritual medium must outsmart the most important client of her career: a scientist determined to expose frauds like her. But their game of wits has fatal consequences when a vengeful spirit answers their summons. So imagine Ms. Cleo pacing about because she knows the jig is up, and then a real ghost comes out to play. The two must put aside their differences and find a way to banish the ghost together, or one of them could be its next victim.


The Haunting of Beatrix Greene is a quick read and kept me engaged. I had no idea this book was released as “episodes,” but I was fortunate enough to get a copy of the entire story. I believe this is my first time reading a book that is written by three authors. The story ran smoothly without any disruptions of differences. I did question the random romance scenes that happened while in the thick of danger, but I’m going to come back to this topic in a second.

I liked the buildup of this story, and the overall atmosphere of the book screamed eerie. It had all the elements of a good horror story: Ghosts, wispy whispers, a creepy basement with hidden passages, strange paintings on the walls, and possession. Blum House would have a ball with this book!

Now about those romance scenes. There weren’t many, and with the way the story was set up, I knew it was going to be there. But it’s the placement of the scenes that nags my brain. Maybe it’s just me and my common sense, but I can’t picture myself knowing that I’m in a haunted house, where the walls are literally closing in, but I want to rip off your clothes and make love by the fireplace. That’s just odd.

As quick as the story was, I don’t think it needed to be dragged out. The authors came to tell a story, and they completed it without breaking 50 pages. If you don’t scare easily, this is a perfect read during your cozy Halloween night.



7 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page