top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTheLittLibrarian

The Scourge Between Stars - Review


*I received a copy from Turn the Page Tour via Tor Nightlife. All reviews are my own.*


Alright, my Science Fiction girlies (and guys. I'm not leaving yall out, it just sounded smoother to address the wimmenz first, lol), I have another book for yall to check out. From the upcoming author, Ness Brown, here is her debut effort, The Scourge Between Stars. If novellas about space passage, alien invasions, a darker version of Wall-E, and Thanos-like destruction of mankind are your jam, this book is for you!


"As acting captain of the starship Calypso, Jacklyn Albright is responsible for keeping the last of humanity alive as they limp back to Earth from their forebears’ failed colony on a distant planet.
Faced with constant threats of starvation and destruction in the treacherous minefield of interstellar space, Jacklyn's crew has reached their breaking point. As unrest begins to spread throughout the ship’s Wards, a new threat emerges, picking off crew members in grim, bloody fashion.
Jacklyn and her team must hunt down the ship’s unknown intruder if they have any hope of making it back to their solar system alive."


This suspenseful tale tracks you alongside Jacklyn Albright and her tiresome mission to get back home. After losing most of her family, dealing with a deteriorating ship, and figuring out a logical way to shepherd thousands of people to safety, nothing else should go wrong, right? Right? It could be worse, but you know, the Karma Gods like to kick into overdrive when those words are uttered.

I don't have much opinion on this book, and that's only because I slowly discovered that I am not as into sci-fi as I thought I was. I know, I know; why did I pick up the book in the first place if I knew this wasn't my preferred genre? Well, I always thought if I could sit through movies like Avatar and The Fifth Element, I could handle a little space novella! Plus, the synopsis sounded intriguing. What was that thing moving silently alongside the walls, and how deadly was it? I was curious!


The Scourge Between Stars wasn't a total bummer for me, and it did pick up when shit started hitting the fan. The suspense carried me to the end of the book, giving me a comfortable victory that things turned out the way I thought they would. There were a few jaw-dropping moments I won't reveal and an outlook that will question if you are a villain or a hero when it comes to peril and danger.

I rated this book 3-stars. It wasn't for me, but don't let my review stop you from not picking up this book. I've conversed with other readers about this title, and they LOVED this book. So yea, it's a me thing. But hey, I tried something new outside of my comfort zone, and I'm not ashamed of it. So all the wins are celebrated over here.


The Scourge Between Stars debuts April 4, 2023


15 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page