top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTheLittLibrarian

The Singer & the Scientist - Review

Updated: Apr 1, 2021


*I received this e-arc from Kar-Ben Publishing & NetGalley. All views are my own*


If I haven't mentioned it before, I'll repeat it: I use to be a (litt)le librarian who worked in the Children's department at several buildings in my hometown. Being surrounded by curious kids and colorful books, it felt like home picking up this book. As the go-to person for introducing new topics and themes to kids, I thought The Singer and the Scientist by Lisa Rose is a great way to start a conversation about unlikely blossoming friendships.


It's 1937, and Marian Anderson is one of the most famous singers in America. But after she gives a performance for an all-white audience, she learns that the nearby hotel is closed to African Americans. She doesn't know where she'll stay for the night.
Until the famous scientist Albert Einstein invites her to stay at his house. Marian, who endures constant discrimination as a Black performer, learns that Albert faced prejudice as a Jew in Germany. She discovers their shared passion for music--and their shared hopes for a more just world.

I think this is an excellent book for kids in the kindergarten-elementary age. The story was engaging, and the illustrations are riveting. It even kept me, a 31-year old, entertained. I love a children's book I can learn from. Growing up, I never really heard much about Marian Anderson, let alone her friendship with the famous scientist Albert Einstein. So Rose has opened up my world to do further research on the two's relationship. I wish I could have seen from the story a deeper dive into the two's friendship. I think it could've solidified the story better, but I also understand that it is a children's book.



Hopefully, guardians who purchase this book for their kids will be prepared for the many questions that will come after. As racism and segregation are the main topics of the story, it will be a teachable moment for adolescents to learn about American history's negative side.


I rated this quick read a 4-star rating. I learned something, and I saw beautiful pictures, which made me feel warm and fuzzy on the inside. The Singer and the Scientist should be apart of a child's reading shelf. The Singer and the Scientist is available now!


18 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page