top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTheLittLibrarian

The White Guy Dies First: 13 Scary Stories of Fear and Power - Review


I received a digital and audio copy from Macmillian Audio & Tor/Forge via Net Galley. All reviews are my own.


It is no surprise that I came running to Netgalley when I saw The White Guy Dies First:13 Scary Stories of Fear and Power became available. I mean, come on! The title! Black people have never faired well in the horror genre (being that we were always the ones to die first). And I can only imagine how others feel seeing their representatives dying horrible deaths as well. The point is, we BIPOC folk are tired of seeing the white guy as the shining hero in every horror situation. It was time to switch it up. As much as I love me some Terry J. Benton and am proud he edited his first anthology, I wasn't impressed with the overall novel. I'm sorry, Terry, don't hate me!


"13 SCARY STORIES. 13 AUTHORS OF COLOR. 13 TIMES WE SURVIVED... THE FIRST KILL.
The White Guy Dies First includes thirteen scary stories by all-star contributors and this time, the white guy dies first.
Killer clowns, a hungry hedge maze, and rich kids who got bored. Friendly cannibals, impossible slashers, and the dead who don’t stay dead....
A museum curator who despises “diasporic inaccuracies.” A sweet girl and her diary of happy thoughts. An old house that just wants friends forever....
These stories are filled with ancient terrors and modern villains, but go ahead, go into the basement, step onto the old plantation, and open the magician’s mystery box because this time, the white guy dies first."

TWDF wasn't for me. It came off more juvenile than I expected, but this is for budding teens, so it serves its purpose.


I experienced this book via audio with a multicast lineup that should have satisfied my ever-complaining ire about having one person narrate multiple people or stories. However, most narrators sounded robotic and didn't sell the stories for me.


Out of 13 stories, only a couple stood out to me, whether it be the writing or the performance.

  1. The Golden Dragon by Kendare Drake: This story is about two Korean-American sisters who take back their justice from a prestigious white boy who only sees Asians as "quiet" and an oriental checklist. The story gives off The Grudge vibes and has a satisfying ending.

  2. The Protégé by Lamar Giles: This story is about a young boy looking after a package for his magician neighbor, which doesn't turn out great for him. I understand not a lot of people like Giles's writing, but I read this as if it was part of the Now You See Me franchise that went super dark.

  3. Everything Coming Up Roses by Tiffany D. Jackson: This story is about a girl who writes in her journal about her garden and problems at her job. All I can say is this Bih was crazy.

  4. Hell is Other Demons by Karen Strong: This story is about an exorcist gone wrong. I like how this story was told. It's not so much about getting into heaven or hell but the work you do outside. One of my "Needs to watch out for" narrators, Angel Pean, performed this story. I loved her work on The American Queen.

  5. Heaven by Adiba Jaigirdal: This story is about living in a post-apocalyptic world overrun by creatures called the Sunken, and things aren't what they seem. I'm going to be honest; this was one of my least favorite stories, but the only reason I'm listing it is because the narrator, Kausar Mohammed, blew me away with her emotions. I need to make a backlist of her work.


Overall, I rated this book three stars. It read very young. I've mentioned before that anthologies are tricky. Either you'll like the themed product or not, and for me, this one is in the no pile. I was bored and found myself tuning out most of the stories that played. I couldn't help but compare it to an earlier release, The Black Girl Survives in This One. It has the same premise, an all-black cast, and better stories. You guys should check that out if you want your fill of POCs surviving the horror field.


The White Guy Dies First is available July 16, 2024



9 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page