top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTheLittLibrarian

Why Is Everything Closed? A Coronavirus Tale - Review

Updated: Sep 14, 2020


*I received this PDF copy from the publisher. All thoughts are my own*


Why Is Everything Closed? A Coronavirus Tale by Lauren Patterson is a story from a child’s perspective about the Pandemic and its effect on their family. Told in the voice of Donovan, he details his daily activities with his little sister, Zara in tow. Donovan learns that there is more to life than video games and an “extended Spring Break” from school. During the seclusion, he discovers more value in family, friends, and neighbors.

I know the children are frustrated and a little stir-crazy not being able to move about normally and Why Is Everything Closed perfectly describes the “new normal” way of life.

I love the drawings! Anirban Ghosh and Noemi Gazzano’s big and vibrant drawings beautifully illustrate the everyday life of Donovan’s family. African American children need to be entertained by mirror images that navigate real-world situations.

Overall I think this is an okay book and while I am not the targeted audience, I found the inconsistencies in the writing sequence and verse structure to be bothersome. I got a little lost in the transitions between family activities and wished there were more detailed fillers to segue through each action. However, I doubt the children that read this book will even notice. Why Is Everything Closed? A Coronavirus Tale is available online at Amazon and Barnes & Noble.


24 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page