top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTheLittLibrarian

A Unicorn Named Rin - Review


*I received this physical copy from the author for the Turn the Pages book tour. All views are my own*


I've been dying to get my hands on a Crystal Z. Lee novel ever since I found her page on Instagram. (Seriously, you guys should go check out her page!). I was lucky enough to receive her second release in the form of a children's book entitled, A Unicorn Named Rin.


The royal phoenix is missing from the Tang dynasty palace! Princess Pingyang is worried. Can Rin the unicorn find Fan the phoenix? Together with her friends—dragon, tiger, and tortoise—Rin embarks on a journey to mystical lands in China. Along the way, Rin discovers the value of teamwork and the warmth of friendship.

This fantastical story is a quick read filled with detailed painted images of historical places in China. The watercolor pictures are so vibrant that it's impossible to ignore the quality of work from the illustrator, Li Liu.


A Unicorn Named Rin tells a story of friendship and coming together when someone is in trouble. It also teaches that sometimes being patient is the key to success. I like the fact that Lee used symbolic animal deities and poetry to help tell the story. She was kind enough to provide information in the back of the book explaining the significance of the places and animals.



I adored Lee featuring an Asian princess who happens to be a real person! I mentioned it before when I reviewed The Singer & the Scientist a few months back - I love a book I can learn from. I definitely will be researching Princess Pingyang for further knowledge.


Overall I rated this book 4-stars. I think it's a beautiful edition to add to any children's reading material. It's an excellent introduction for those trying to add diverse authors to the reading palette, and it's just downright beautiful. A Unicorn named Rin is available everywhere now!


Oh, and hey, there's a giveaway going on through Instagram right now! Head over to my page, like a few posts, and enter for your chance to win a copy!


19 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page