top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTheLittLibrarian

Avatar the Last Airbender: Katara and the Pirate's Silver - Review



We are back with another installment of Avatar the Last Airbender! I had to calm down on my binging last year because my feed was starting to look like an anime network. It just goes to show you that I am genuinely a fan of the Avatar world, and nothing can stop me from reading their books, graphics novels, and fandom conspiracies!


Picking up where I last left off, I got a chance to check out ATLA: Katara and the Pirate's Silver, the standalone comic from the Avatar series written by Faith Hicks and illustrated by Peter Wartman. Yep, this one is a Katara adventure. Buckle up your seatbelt on Appa, and let's take this ride!



"When Team Avatar is suddenly ambushed by the Fire Nation, Katara gets separated from the group. Unable to rendezvous with Aang, Toph, and Sokka, Katara must avoid capture by aligning herself with some unlikely allies! The normally sweet and sensitive Katara will need to explore her tougher side if she's going to reunite with the rest of Team Avatar"

Katara and the Pirate's Silver is an original story that takes place in Book 2 of Avatar: The Last Airbender. If you've watched the show, you might remember an episode where Katara faced a bunch of pirates for "stealing back" a water scroll. This comic is a continuation of the plotline. In all honesty, we could have skipped this graphic novel episode. It wasn't needed. Writing about how meek and motherly Katara can be in her comic adventure was already one and done when they aired the original episode. We know Katara can be a sap with her feelings, but we also know that she's one of the most powerful waterbenders in the world.



I will say I giggled a bit when I saw the favorite "That's rough buddy" line makes its way into the dialogs. That nourished my inner fandom. I also like the introduction of this pirate character – Jiang. He's a cutie. I wish we could see more of an alliance with these pirates in the future of the ATLA series.


Overall, I rated this novel 3-stars. It didn't add or take away anything to the story. If you happen to read this out of the ATLA order, you will be completely fine. Until next time, follow me on my journey with the Aang Gang, and look out for more reviews to come!


3 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page